A medal not an award

In my last post I insisted that the Victoria Cross medal is awarded not won.

However, this isn’t true. Many soldiers have set out with the express intention of winning a VC.

Take our old friend Thomas Henry Kavanagh, who was:

‘anxious to perform some service which would ensure to me the honour of wearing our Most Gracious Majesty’s Cross.’

2 Responses to “A medal not an award”

  1. Home Improvement DIY Says:

    This is very nice and informative post. I have bookmarked your site in order to find out your post in the future.

  2. Vaccum Cleaner Info Plus Says:

    Really nice site you have here. I’ve been reading for a while but this post made me want to say 2 thumbs up. Keep up the great work


Leave a Reply

