Now all I need to do is find a publisher.

It’s strange. I have been writing children’s history books for a couple years, but very few of these have been about a subject that really excites me.

My passion is identity or more precisely, British identity. In today’s multi-ethnic society I believe that understanding what it means to be British is essential. My approach is to give children a balanced picture of their history.

To me the Victoria Cross represents the changing cult of the Warrior Hero like no other subject. The way in which the medal has been presented over the years, is a mirror to society’s view of its fighting men. In a way it is also a mirror to the way society sees its history.

So, at the start of the year I set out to write the book I wanted. It will be no surprise to my regular readers that it is about the Victoria Cross.
The book looks at the Victorian period, but its just one of three chronological books. I have looked at a number of men to be awarded the VC and presented their actions against a contextual historical background. I have also tried to introduce some of the controversies of the award, including Rorke’s Drift and Frederick Roberts.

Now all I need to do is find a publisher. …

Leave a Reply

